Transparency Camp West:

August 10, 2009

Saturday I attended Transparency Camp West hosted at Google headquarters by The Sunlight Foundation, etc.  It was an indcredibly intense day for me, as the sessions I attended addressed extremely high level concepts of government transparency and government data transparency.  The people I met were amongst some of the smartest I’ve ever met (and, to be surrounded by so many political bloggers was slightly daunting.)  Thoroughout the day I struggled with how to process all I’d learned and listened to and parse out a message that would resonante with people who read the publication I write for.  It was challenging – though I was completely stimulated, engaged and excited about the event – I think that it was a little bit higher level than the average Jane citizen would have enjoyed.

(Actually, I found myself thinking about how if “Kat” used her massive intellect for good instead of pathetic attempts at evil AND if she could fucking use a computer past posting to Facebook and trolling my blog that Transparency Camp would have been an awesome event for her to attend, as it would have been right up her alley in terms of her interest in politics.  Sometimes the fact that she’s fucking insane makes me so bloody sad I can hardly stand it.  /aside)

(Oh and I’ll look forward to her spinning this comment and reposting it on her blog about me.  I’m sure she can find someway to take a compliment and make it ugly.)

ANYHOW.  Here’s the two articles I came up with, I think they’re resonant to my audiance, or at least I hope they are.

BitchBuzz at Transparency Camp

Transparency Camp: The Bottom Line

It was cool to be at Google HQ – and I had some great conversations (on topics other than governance, politics and technology) with some really cool attendees of Transparency Camp.  (Not to mention I got a replacement for my beloved Google pen from She’s Geeky that died earlier this year – may it rest in pen peace – and some stickers for my laptop.)

I also got to talk with Cate Sevilla on IM – which was really great – I adore me some Cup Cate – and, I feel like b/c of the time difference between SF and London I don’t ever really get to just chat with her when it’s not about work.  Plus it was awesome to catch up with Susan on the ride down; and, I’m going to make a point of not waiting so long before the next time I see her.  Women like Susan and Cathy Brooks and Elisa Camahort and Kalia Hamlin have been and continue to be such strong influences on me as a writer and a woman – I’m really so thankful to be surrounded by smart, savvy women.

Other than that, not much going on with me.  Had a great evening w/Media Lint on Saturday and watched Coraline and Watchmen on Sunday while trying to stay cool (it went from crappy cloudy and chilly to sunny and muggy in about an hour and a half.)  Going to walk up to Telegraph now and swing by Amoeba and get home in time to interview Ms. Kambri via phone for Women to Watch and then make the project for my DIY Diva column on Friday tonight.  Not to mention working on the design for the website (which I’m pushing live w/the help of Sanderson on Sunday.)  Ahhhh…

