YouTube Tuesday: Don’t tase me, bro…

August 11, 2009

In 2007 the phrase “don’t tase me, bro” rocketed to viral superstardom and fixed its’ place in the lexicon of our culture after a student at the University of Florida shouted it out as the police tried to subdue him during a forum with Senator John Kerry.

While the fallout from that spurred a metric shitton of hi-tothe-larious spoofs and videos and songs – the subject of “tasing” someone is still pretty fucking serious; and, cops WAYYYY overuse their tasers.  YouTube Tuesday would like to share with you a tasing at an Oakland A’s game on 4 August in which the coppers tase a guy who wasn’t being threatening or violent towards them; AND, then they push a bystander down the stairs.

I’m pretty over the bullshit of the Oakland PD – they’re becoming bigger assholes with a bigger rep for being unnecessarily violent than the SFPD ever was.  Ugh, this video made me unhappy to see.

And, here is my favorite “spoof” vid from the original “don’t tase me, bro” phenom:

