Is there a way to quantify if someone is actually a skank?

August 25, 2009
Image via NY Daily News

Image via NY Daily News

Took a little break from work, the Internet and all things related yesterday… It was really needed and as I just learned on Sunday night that I am “a go” to be the writer working on an exceptionally big book project, I figured I should take a little down time where I could.  Sorry for cloak and dagger regarding the project – I’ll post what it is about when I am told that I can let the cat out of the bag… For now, revel with me in the fact that I’ve got a book deal of sorts and am about to be super busy.

ANYHOOO.

Wanted to clarify something: My posting information on copyright infringement was in relation/response to my post about Maria Diaz’s BB post about model Liskula Cohen.  I was not implying or stating that my copyright has been violated (though it has more than once by more than one resource – but, I say pick your battles – and the battle to prove copyright infringement is a tough one, very frustrating and not worth my time unless someone is actually claiming my work is theirs.)

Speaking of which!  There is was article about the NYC Skank dealio in PC magazine online yesterday…  The ‘Skanks in NYC’ Soap Opera: Will Google Be Sued?

I find this whole thing fascinating to watch… Though, as I said to MariaMargarita in the comments, I think that the core issue is if Liskula Cohen can prove a.) that being called a skank has hurt her career in a substantial capital way, b.) that she is, indeed, not a skank and c.) that Rosemary Port made those assignations as a statement of fact, not opinion…

The most interesting part, to me, is how would Liskula prove she isn’t a skank?

Apparently she can’t or won’t even be trying, as she dropped her charges.

BUT HANG ON!  The story isn’t over yet!

Rosemary Port (the blogger Google was forced to out) spoke with the NY Daily News about the situation and stated in that article that Cohen “defamed herself.”

Uh, what?  Okay, as someone who has had plenty of crappy, hurtful things said about her on these here innerwebs, I find the idea that you can “defame yourself” to be ridiculous.

Personally, I think the whole concept of behavior such as this – in any case – smacks of school yard bully-ism.  Yah, the best way to make it go away is to ignore it… And, acknowledging or commenting on it often makes it much, much worse… But, I really think that it’s beyond the pale to say that someone “had it coming” when they have such vitrol spewed against them.

Why do I think that?

Well – I’m gonna go a little religious philosophical here – but, basically, two wrongs don’t make a right.

No matter how much you dislike someone or disapprove of the way someone behaves it is not the right choice to slam them and say hurtful things about them.  Just because someone is a jerk or behaves like an idiot you (the general you, this is not about anyone specifically, so back down) don’t have the right to be a jerk or behave like an idiot back.

But, on the other hand there is the concept of “there is no bad publicity.”  So, who the fuck cares if some disgruntled person is calling you a skank on the Internet?  It only makes people want to find out if you are or aren’t a skank and raises your visibility, in general.  For real, I had no idea who Liskula Cohen was before this whole sheebang blew up in the press last week.

Though I do understand (better than most) how hurtful it can be to read crappy things being said about you online.

What I find interesting is that people are speculating at this point that Cohen and Port are in cahoots in this mess trying to gank skank publicity…

In the PC magazine online article JR Raphael sez:

“So, all combined, what do we have on our hands? As far as I’m concerned, the odd events and back-and-forth bickering lead to only one logical conclusion: Our two gal pals are actually working in tandem to set the stage for an upcoming VH1 reality show. It’ll have a title along the lines of ‘Celebrity Blog Battle.’ A wresting ring, lots of baby oil, and Bret Michaels will presumably all be involved.”

BRILLIANT!

This whole sheebang should be titled “How The Internets Turns.”

