Question of the Week: What is your favorite Internet Drama?

September 14, 2009
THE DRAMA LLAMA WANTS TO KNOW WHAT YOU THINK!!!!

THE DRAMA LLAMA WANTS TO KNOW WHAT YOU THINK!!!!

EDIT 9/16: I really appreciate the people who’ve emailed me suggestions for case studies for my book.  And, actually I think I prefer to get emails.  An account you can email to is linked above, I’m closing comments since no one is using them.

Kelly Clarkson vs. Kanye is an interesting example (if only because it is an example of famous people using FREE WordPress blogs,) the IE vs. Netscape is very techy, but interesting too… I’m also looking forward to digging into the DevShed and deviantART forums to research the history of muck raking in those communities.  Also, I’ve added a chapter on online dating to my outline due to the mass influx of emails asking me to write something about that.  I actually have a few amusing stories of my own that I can tell about that topic (like the dude who said he was 6’3″ on his profile and when I met him in person he was shorter than I am… and, I’m short).

Keep ’em comin’!

Thx ~ KK

It has come out in a variety of ways that I’m writing a book about online drama and why people subsitute social networking for social life.

You may not believe it or suspect that I’m fudging this to try to excuse my own behavior (like whatever) but, this is indeed a REAL project.  One that I will be focusing on full steam after I’ve completed my work on the other book (you all know what it is about at this point).

I’m very excited about this work, I will be looking at my own escapades online (many of which, in recent years, have been crafted to elicit response) and some more famous Internet dramz situations which have spiraled out of control and what their impact on the real lives of those involved has been.  I am also examining why it is that people are so drawn to this bullshit, both to observe and participate.

To give you an example of what I’m talking about: I’ll be looking at and writing case studies about the Liskula Cohen/Rosemary Port, the Kathy Sierra/Mean Kids and 4Chan and the development of Anonymous amongst other cases.

So here’s the QotW: WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE EXAMPLE OF INTERNET DRAMA?

Leave your thoughts in the comments.

Anonymous commenting is welcomed in this instance.  Please do not be a-feared that if you post a comment directing me to an example that I will cite you or track your IP or anything else of that nature.  I won’t.  I won’t even be responding, simply collecting and culling through data to research.

Though OT comments or abusive comments will be deleted. 🙂

Thanks in advance for your help!!

