Introducing TL285

September 23, 2009
Hes a rogue, hes a diabolical villan, hes TL285

He's a rogue, he's a diabolical villan, he's TL285

His name sounds like a robot name (which is cool) but in fact, he’s a real person, who has approached me asking to contribute to this blog while I am working on other projects.

Please give a warm H8ful welcome to Mr. TL285.  I’ll let him jump right in and do what he does best… piss people off.

To clarify: He’s not anonymous, he’s revealed his identity to me, but is choosing to write under an alias… so he escapes my “no anonymous posting” dictate.  He further disagrees with me about the YOYOW issues and is pretty adamant that he be given free reign on the blog to do as he wishes… I’m gonna say otay to that.  We’ll see what happens.

Enjoy!

6 Responses to “Introducing TL285”

  1. Srsly? Says:

    How is it now okay for you to have an anonymous poster who does not “YOYOW” here, but that is not okay elsewhere? Do you see this hypocrisy?

    • adorkablegrrl Says:

      He’s not anonymous. He’s using an alias. He has provided me with a valid email address and links to his other work online. He owns his own words and will be held accountable for what he says and does. I know who he is.

      It is not hypocrisy. There is a difference between an alias and anonymity.

      See pseudonym vs. anonymous:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pseudonym

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anonymity

      Again: I know who he is. He is choosing to own his behavior under TL285 instead of John Smith, etc.

      Most importantly he is here to provide a different point of view than mine. You’d think that you would be glad to see that.

  2. Srsly? Says:

    But nobody else knows who he is.

    To Kate = pseudonym
    To rest of world = anonymous

    So as long as it’s all about you, but screw everyone else, then it’s okay?

    • adorkablegrrl Says:

      Here is the difference: I am responsible for the content which is posted here. If TL285 posts irresponsibly I know who he is and I control what is said here. I can take it down, I can suspend his right to post. If he harasses someone in a way which requires action (which he won’t) I can provide information to any individual he may harm to compel him to stop harming them.

      Anonymous = total obfuscation of identity so you can avoid consequences for your behavior.

      Alias = someone knows who you are and will hold you accountable for your behavior.

      Open ID = someone who posts using their real name and directly accepts consequences for their behavior.

      Alias/Open ID are acceptable as far as I’m concerned. Anonymous is not.

      Besides, I can’t possibly imagine that after seeing how SHITTY the people commenting on this blog and writing the TFC have been to me that anyone in their right mind would want to provide the lot of you with a first and last name so that you can direct your vitriol towards them, too.

      I mean: look what you fucktards did to Rosey.

      The ship has already sailed where I am concerned.

      And, no this is NOT me. I think you’ll see a very distinct difference in TL’s posting style. This is someone I know and he’s f-ing brilliant.

      He told me to tell you that his real name is Gavin Asshole. Of the Rhode Island Assholes. Lockjaw, baby. He’s someone I’ve met on my travels as the deposed Countess of Hohenzollern-Haigerloch. He’s fixed several parking tickets for me.

      And, nothing is ever all about me. Much to my dismay.

    • adorkablegrrl Says:

      Also, I should point out that YOU are using an alias in commenting here. My allowing that shows that I’m rather consistent in my policy, I think.

      Please see #5 in The Rulz of Engagement:

      5. We do not allow anonymous comments.

      We require commenters to supply a valid email address before they can post, though we allow commenters to identify themselves with an alias, rather than their real name.

      That goes for contributors, too.

  3. adorkablegrrl Says:

    GOP42 – your comment has been deleted as you have not supplied a valid email address.


Comments are closed.

